W7 T2 2016 Reflection


It’s Saturday, and another school week is in the books. Time to reflect on the week that was, and recharge for the next challenge.


The eLearning coordinator surprised me (well, the faculty actually) with a 3D printer. Naturally, I jumped at the chance to be the person in charge of it and showing everyone else how to use it. I have become obsessed with it over the last few days. All I need to do now is try to convince my wife to let me buy one for myself. This machine is amazing! The possibilities are endless, particularly in the Humanities faculty. I found a website with pre-drawn items that can be downloaded and printed. I will be looking at using it to build some Ancient Egyptian pyramids, a giant relief map of Australia (much larger than the one below), and maybe some student-designed product prototypes.

It was my birthday on Thursday, and the majority of my classes sang to me. It melts your heart.

Yesterday, I joined 180 year 10 students on a (really long) journey to Canberra to visit the War Memorial. I have never seen a group of students be so quiet and so respectful about the subject matter. The students were moved by the stories of the men and women who gave their lives for their country – many of them the same age as they are. We received so many positive comments from the public about how amazing our kids were. I could not be more proud of them.

On a lighter note about the trip to the War Memorial:

Some of my kids are starting to smell the holidays and are becoming a bit hard to manage. I need to come up with a plan to stop the pre-holiday motivation drop, meanwhile, the cold which knocked me around a few weeks ago and went away, has returned with a vengeance.

Leave a Reply

